Travel Grants

As the national voice for Canadian heart rhythm physicians and scientists, the promotion and support of education is a strategic priority for the CHRS.

The CHRS has an annual budget to support allied health and trainee travel to conferences to present their research. 


To be eligible for a travel grant you must be:

  1. a CHRS member; and 
  2. presenting a research abstract or poster in the electrophysiology field at a heart rhythm/arrhythmia related meeting, i.e. American College of Cardiology (ACC), European Heart Rhythm Association (EHRA), Heart Rhythm Society (HRS), Cardiostim, European Society of Cardiology (ESC), Canadian Cardiovascular Congress (CCC) or American Heart Association (AHA).

Guiding Principles 

  1. CHRS Trainee and AHP members may request one travel grant to a maximum of $500 per conference.
  2. CHRS Trainee and AHP members may request up to two travel grants for a combined total of $1,000 during the course of the CHRS fiscal year. 
  3. Travel grants must be requested prior to attendance at the conference. Members will be advised a minimum of three weeks in advance of the respective conference if funding has/has not been approved. 
  4. Travel grants shall be awarded on a first come, first granted basis. Once the annual funds have been depleted, subsequent requests will be declined. 
  5. If, at the end of the fiscal year, funds remain in the travel budget, the additional funds will not be carried over. 
  6. CHRS Trainee and AHP members must present at the conference; under no circumstances will travel grants be awarded to attend a conference where they do not make a presentation. 
  7. Grants are paid after the conference, upon submission of an ‘Expense Claim Form’ to the CHRS Secretariat detailing the expenses incurred, including original boarding receipts for air/rail travel (copies are acceptable).
  8. By accepting a CHRS travel grant, recipients give permission to CHRS to publish their name and institution on the CHRS website and in the CHRS Annual Report.

Application Procedures 

An application must be completed for requests for a CHRS travel grant. The CHRS may request any additional information needed to determine suitability of the request.

All requests will be reviewed by the CHRS Executive. These reviews may take place in person, via email or via telephone discussion. The CHRS Executive will recommend if requests should be approved or not.

The CHRS Executive will do their best to ensure that there is a balance between gender, geographic location, and area of work (basic vs.clinical).  However, scientific merit and quality of the applications will come first. 


Application Form 


2019 Travel Grant Recipients

  • Brandon Chalazan                    
  • Chris Cheung
  • Debra Campbell
  • Jacqueline Forman
  • Sarath Kumar
  • David Lee
  • Nelson Lu
  • Andrew Mardell
  • Pablo Mendoza
  • Emily Murtagh
  • Kenneth Quadros
  • Rose Ramm
  • Thomas Roston
  • Michelle Samuel
  • Jagdeep Walia
  • Darryl Wan
  • Curtis Williams

2018 Travel Grant Recipients

The CHRS approved a total of 15 travel grants in 2018 to the following allied health and trainee members:

  • Nasser Alhammad
  • Opeyemi Fadahunsi
  • Mohammed Rashid
  • Sandra Carroll
  • Kathryn Hong
  • Garry Thomas
  • William Chan
  • Evan Martow
  • Douglas Wan
  • Chris Cheung
  • William McIntyre(x2)
  • Lindsey Ward
  • Bishoy Deif
  • Jann Patrick Ong